Cochrane Scientific Committee

JULY 2017

We are pleased to announce the Co-Chairs for the Cochrane Scientific Committee, Philippe Ravaud and Ana Marušić.

Philippe is Professor of Epidemiology at Paris Descartes University and adjunct professor at the Mailman School of Public Health (Columbia University, USA). He is the director of the INSERM-Paris Descartes Epidemiology and Biostatistics Research Center, Cochrane France and the French EQUATOR center.

Ana is Professor of Anatomy and Chair of the Department of Research in Biomedicine and Health at the University of Split School of Medicine, Split, Croatia. She is the founder and Research Coordinator of Cochrane Croatia.

Further details of all CSC members.

The Cochrane Scientific Committee met for the first time on the 18th May 2017. A successful meeting started with members agreeing their terms of reference and processes. The committee discussed three key new developments (“Risk of Bias” tool 2.0 and the risk of bias tool for nonrandomized studies (ROBINS-I) and statistical techniques to address Type I and II errors in cumulative meta-analyses. The committee will provide statements of their recommendations shortly.